Seneca Falls (crs)
New York City
|Start Slide Show|
The region is the former realm of the Cayuga tribe, who were visited by Jesuit missionaries during the 17th Century. Cayuga villages were attacked and destroyed by the Sullivan Expedition of 1779 in retaliation for plundering and killing colonists. The region became part of the Central New York Military Tract, reserved for veterans, after the conclusion of the American Revolution. Part of the current town was in a reservation set apart for members of the Cayuga who returned after the war. This reservation was located at the north end of Cayuga Lake. A canal was completed in 1818 allowing transit between Seneca Lake and Cayuga Lake. This canal was connected to the Erie Canal in 1828. The town was established in 1829 from part of the Town of Junius. The community of Seneca Falls in the town set itself apart by incorporating as a village in 1831. On March 16, 2010, the people of the Village of Seneca Falls voted to dissolve the village into the Town of Seneca Falls, effective in 2012.
Identifier: 624, Last Accessed: 2018-01-16 01:38:15
Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2018
All rights reserved.
Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.