San Nicola in Carcere (crs)
San Giovanni in Laterano
|Start Slide Show|
The first church on the site was probably built in the 6th century, but the first dedication is from a plaque on the church dating to 1128. It was constructed in and from the ruins of the Forum Holitorium (vegetable market) and its temples, along with a jail which tradition states was sited in the temples' ruins. Remains from three temples of Rome's republican period which were dedicated to Juno, Spes and Janus, are still apparent in the church's construction. Three columns from the Temple of Juno Sospita are incorporated into both the 10th century and 1599 north facades of the church. The pictures shown are of the south face. The church was rebuilt in 1599, with a new facade by Giacomo della Porta.
Identifier: 458, Last Accessed: 2018-02-21 12:45:01
Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2018
All rights reserved.
Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.