Piazza della Minerva (crs)
Piazza del Popolo
|Start Slide Show|
Piazza della Minerva is a small square in Rome near the Pantheon. Its name derives from the existence of a temple built on the site by Pompey dedicated to Minerva Calcidica. Facing this piazza is the church of Santa Maria sopra Minerva mentioned in the 8th century by the Anonymous of Einsiedeln. To the right of its facade are inscriptions built into the wall commemorating the flooding of the Tiber between 1422 and 1598. The area of the piazza is the lowest in Rome. The church was the base of the Dominicans from 1266 and 1275 and so a large convent arose alongside it. This expanded over time to the space formerly occupied by three Roman temples; the Minervium, the Iseum (Temple of Isis) and the Serapeum (Temple of Serapis). From the 17th century the convent became the base of the Roman Inquisition. At the center of the piazza, backing onto the Inquisition convent, is the 1667 elephant by Bernini and the small obelisk (from Sais by pharaoh Apries) atop it. This obelisk was excavated in the cloister and came from the Iseum.
Identifier: 450, Last Accessed: 2018-03-21 02:01:25
Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2018
All rights reserved.
Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.