Mausoleum of Augustus (crs)
|Start Slide Show|
The Mausoleum of Augustus is a large tomb built by the Roman Emperor Augustus in 28 BC. The Mausoleum is no longer open to tourists, and time and carelessness have stripped the ruins bare. The Mausoleum was one of the first projects initiated by Augustus following his victory at the Battle of Actium in 31 BC. The mausoleum was circular in plan, consisting of several concentric rings of earth and brick, planted with cypresses and capped by a conical roof and a statue of Augustus. Vaults held up the roof and opened up the burial spaces below. Twin pink granite obelisks flanked the arched entryway. A corridor ran from the entryway into the heart of the Mausoleum, where there was a chamber with three niches to hold the golden urns enshrining the ashes of the Imperial Family. In 410, during the sack of Rome by Alaric, the pillaging Goths rifled the vaults, stole the urns and scattered the ashes, without damaging the structure of the building. In the Middle Ages it was fortified as a castle and occupied by the Colonna family. After the disastrous defeat of the Commune of Rome at the hands of the Count of Tusculum in 1167, the Colonna were disgraced and banished, and their fortification in the Campo was dismantled. It became a ruin. In the 19th century the ruins were used for bullfights, and later as a concert hall. It was not until the 1930s that the site was opened as a preserved archaeological landmark.
Note the Museum of the Ara Pacis did not open until 2006.
Identifier: 446, Last Accessed: 2017-11-20 05:42:15
Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2017
All rights reserved.
Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.