Assisi (crs)

Assisi
Assisi
Via Borga Aretino
Assisi
Assisi
From Assisi
Assisi
Via Borga Aretino
Assisi
Santa Maria Maggiore
      
Assisi
Santa Maria Maggiore
Assisi
Rocca Maggiore
Assisi
Rocca Maggiore
Assisi
Via Santa Chiara
Assisi
Via Santa Chiara
Assisi
Santa Maria Sopra Minerva
      
Assisi
Santa Maria Sopra Minerva
Assisi
Santa Maria Sopra Minerva
Assisi
Piazza del Comune
Assisi
Piazza del Comune
Assisi
Assisi
      
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
      
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
Via Frate Elia
Assisi
Assisi
Via Fontebella
Assisi
      
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
Assisi
Basilica of Santa Chiara
Basilica of Santa Chiara
Basilica of San Francesco d'Assisi
Basilica of St. Francis
      
Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli
Santa Maria degli Angeli
San Damiano
San Damiano

 

Image/s: circa 2003  Accesses: 227

 

Previous 
Ariccia 
    Next
 Bologna 
  Start Slide Show

The Romans took control of central Italy in 295 BC.  They built the flourishing municipium Asisium on a series of terraces on Monte Subasio.  Roman remains can still be found in Assisi: city walls, the forum (now Piazza del Comune), a theatre, an amphitheatre and the Temple of Minerva (now transformed into the Church of Santa Maria sopra Minerva).  In 238 AD Assisi was converted to Christianity by Bishop Rufino.  According to tradition, his remains rest in the Cathedral Church of San Rufino in Assisi.  The Ostrogoths destroyed most of the town in 545.  Assisi then came under the rule of the Lombards.  It became an independent commune in the 11th century.  In a battle with the Guelph Perugia, Francesco di Bernardone, was taken prisoner, setting in motion the events that eventually led him to live as a beggar, renounce the world and establish the Franciscan order.  After his canonization in 1228 construction of the Basilica of St. Francis was started.  The Basilica of Sant Chiara was begun in 1257.  The Rocca Maggiore, the imperial fortress on top of the hill above the city, which had been plundered in 1189, was rebuilt in 1367.  The city went into a deep decline due to the Black Death in 1348.  The city came again under papal jurisdiction under the rule of Pope Pius II (1458-1464).  In 1569 construction was started of the Basilica of Santa Maria degli Angeli.

Reference/s: Wikipedia

Identifier: 394, Last Accessed: 2017-07-25 11:26:39

 

Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2017
All rights reserved.

Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.

 

 



--------
Galleries
Italy
--------
Change Log
Collections
Contact
Galleries
Help
Home
Introduction
Maps
References
Table of Contents
Technical Information