|Start Slide Show|
Settlements here have been dated from about 3500 BC, but the hill site itself became an important trading place in the 6th century BC. The first fortifications appeared when Romans fortified the hilltop around 100 BC. The city fell into such disrepair that the French government decided to demolish it in 1849. The mayor of Carcassonne, Jean-Pierre Cros-Mayrevieille, and the writer Prosper Mérimée led a campaign to preserve the fortress as a historical monument. The architect Eugène Viollet-le-Duc, already at work restoring the Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, was commissioned to perform the work which started in 1853. The fortifications consists of a double ring of ramparts, 53 towers and the Château Comtal.
Identifier: 187, Last Accessed: 2018-03-18 20:53:39
Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2018
All rights reserved.
Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.