Nizhny Novgorod (crs)

Nizhny Novgorod
From the hotel
Nizhny Novgorod
From the Hotel
Nizhny Novgorod
Cathedral of Alexander Nevsky
Nizhny Novgorod
Lenin Square
Nizhny Novgorod
Lenin Monument
Nizhny Novgorod
Lenin Monument
      
Nizhny Novgorod
Lenin Monument
Nizhny Novgorod
Along the Oka
Nixhny Novgorod
Our Hotel
Nixhny Novgorod
Confluence of the Oka & Volga
Nizhny Novgorod
Nizhny Novgorod
      
Annunciation Monastery Cathedral
Annunciation Monastery
Church of the Assumption
Church of the Assumption
The Volga River from the Kremlin
Kremlin
Maxim Gorky Home
Maxim Gorky Home
Minin and Pozharsky Square
Minin and Pozharsky Square
The flat
Sakharov Museum
      
Saviour Old Market Cathedral
Saviour Cathedral
Virgin's Nativity Church
Virgin's Nativity Church

 

Nizhny Novgorod (Gorky)

Image/s: circa 2006  Accesses: 269

 

Previous 
Murom 
    Next
 Sergiev Posad 
  Start Slide Show

A small Russian wooden hill fort was founded by Grand Duke Yuri II of Russia in 1221.  Located at the confluence of two most important rivers of his principality, the Volga, and the Oka it was named Nizhny Novgorod.  After the death of Yuri II on March 4, 1238 at the Battle of Sit River the Mongols occupied the fortress.  Nizhny Novgorod fortress took advantage of a natural moat formed by the two rivers.  With the agreement of the Mongol Khan, Nizhny Novgorod was incorporated into the Vladimir - Suzdal Principality in 1264.  Its importance increased when the seat of the powerful Suzdal Principality was moved here from Gorodets in 1350.  Grand Duke Dmitry Konstantinovich (1323-1383) sought to make his capital a rival worthy of Moscow; he built a stone citadel and several churches and was a patron of historians.  The earliest extant manuscript of the Russian Primary Chronicle, the Laurentian Codex, was written for him by the local monk Laurentius in 1377.  After the city's incorporation into Muscovy (1392), the local princes took the name Shuisky and settled in Moscow.  After being burned by the powerful Crimean Tatar chief Edigu in 1408, Nizhny Novgorod was restored as a stronghold against the Tatars of Kazan.  The red-brick Kremlin was built in 1508–1511 under the supervision of Peter the Italian.  The fortress was strong enough to withstand Tatar sieges in 1520 and 1536.  In 1612 the national militia gathered Kuzma Minin, and commanded by Knyaz Dmitry Pozharsky expelled the Polish troops from Moscow, putting an end to the "Time of Troubles" and establishing the rule of the Romanov dynasty.  The main square before the Kremlin is named after Minin and Pozharsky.  Minin's remains are buried in the citadel.  In the course of the following century, the city prospered commercially and was chosen by the Stroganovs as a base for their operations.  A particular style of architecture and icon painting, known as the Stroganov style, developed there at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. By the mid-19th century, it was firmly established as the trade capital of the Russian Empire.  There were no bridges over the Volga or Oka before the October Revolution in 1917.  The first bridge over the Volga was started by the Moscow-Kazan Railway Company in 1914, but only finished in the Soviet Era when the railway to Kotelnich was opened for service in 1927.  The famous writer Maxim Gorky was born in Nizhny Novgorod in 1868.  During his lifetime, the city was renamed Gorky following his return to the Soviet Union in 1932 on invitation of Joseph Stalin.  The city bore Gorky's name until 1991.  His childhood home is preserved as a museum, known as the Kashirin House, after Alexei's grandfather.  During much of the Soviet era, the city was closed to foreigners to safeguard the security of Soviet military research and production facilities.  The physicist and the Nobel laureate Andrei Sakharov was exiled there during 1980-1986 to limit his contacts with foreigners.  An end to the "closed" status of the city has accompanied the reinstatement of the city's original name in 1990

Reference/s: Wikipedia

Identifier: 148, Last Accessed: 2017-07-25 11:16:24

 

Copyright: © A. O. Newberry & Co. 2007-2017
All rights reserved.

Last Modified: Fri Jul 29 2016 09:10:20.

 

 



--------
Galleries
Russia
--------
Change Log
Collections
Contact
Galleries
Help
Home
Introduction
Maps
References
Table of Contents
Technical Information